It’s a Crochet Day!

Those who know me know that it’s not uncommon for me to have several projects going at once–I do it because I need variety. Repeating the same stitch and looking at the same color for extended periods can become tedious, so I break it up (although, there are some days when I have no trouble spending hours on the same projects).

Right now, I have 3 projects going. The first one is a shawl, and I’m using a beautiful, pale blue lace weight alpaca/tencel yarn that my grandmother purchased for me from a craft fair. I started this project after the yarn sat in my yarn drawer for almost 8 months. This is one of those instances where, since the yarn was not purchased with a pattern in mind, a perfect pattern must be found for the yarn. Once I found it I got to work, and I plan on sharing some photos when it’s finished.

My second project is a crochet dragon using size 10 crochet thread. This one is slow going–there are so many details, and I have to attach as I go (otherwise I won’t know what the pieces are, although I guess I could label them). I think I’ve spent close to 8 hours on it, and I’m still only finishing details on the head.

My third project is a chevron scarf. The pattern was created by The Stitchin’ Mommy and can be found here. This is my first chevron crochet project. I think they look cool but until yesterday, I hadn’t tried one. As I mentioned in my previous post, there was a tent at the fair selling yarn from a local alpaca farm, and I purchased some yarn from them. The yarn transitions from a bright red to a vibrant green. When I bought it, the hank was twisted so that the red and green were touching–it reminded me of Christmas. What I noticed (but didn’t immediately pay attention to), was that there’s a bit of orange and a bit of yellow.

image

See how the red fades into orange then meets the faded green (which appears yellowish) before transitioning to green? Then it repeats! I know it sounds silly, but watching the repeat as I crochet thrills me–red, orange, yellow, green, yellow, orange, red! I no longer see Christmas when I look at it. I think of a flower bouquet or even something tropical.

image

One thought on “It’s a Crochet Day!

  1. Pingback: Carpet Petting and a David Bust | Serendipitous Mischief

Leave a Reply

