Carpet Petting and a David Bust

Now, I know you’re wondering about that title–how could you not be? That’s the point, right?

Well, on the rare occasion I go to Lowe’s (either on my own or with someone else), I gravitate toward the gardening section. Usually, I don’t inform the person I’m with that I’m wandering off–I just do. I catch a glimpse of green out of the corner of my eye, and I’m gone. Once I arrive, I walk up and down every isle feeling the leaves on all the plants, smelling the flowers, then smelling the leaves on the plants without flowers.

It just so happened that the other day my mother asked me if I wanted to join her on her trip to Lowe’s to pick out a new light for the kitchen. Of course! So, we get there, and she tells me we aren’t going to be there long enough for me to wander through the plants. Apparently, she already had a light picked out–we were going in to grab it and check out. Know how the Doctor says, “don’t wander off?” I wandered off to the carpeting section.

I touched every carpet sample in every color and each time the fibers of a different piece met with my fingers, I giggled. I imagine I got some strange looks from the guys working there; however, I can’t say for sure because I was too absorbed in petting every carpet.

On a different note, I made an error in this post. If I remember correctly, I said I was working on 3 different projects: a dragon using crochet thread, a shawl using alpaca/tencel lace weight yarn, and a scarf using alpaca yarn I purchased at the fair from a local alpaca farm. I forgot about my Rose Garden Shawl! That means I actually had 4 projects in progress, but I’m proud to say I’m now down to 3! Check out my completed alpaca scarf!

image

It was 88 degres and humid today.

Today was such a lovely day, so bright and sunny! I just had to take pictures outside! Although, I managed to snap these when the sun snuck behind some clouds. I don’t have a bust or a dress form yet to display my work for photo purposes yet, so I figured I’d make do with lawn furniture.

image

Obviously, this chair was cold and needed to be bundled up.

I should mention that I have been dog sitting for the last few days, and these photos were taken at the owner’s house. The garden at the house has a variety of vibrant blooms, many of which attract butterflies and hummingbirds (in addition to the charming bumblebees and hard-working honeybees)!

image

 

I figured these 3 pictures would be enough. They came out well enough. It wasn’t until a few hours later when I remembered there’s a bust in one of the rooms of the house. I call it the David because that statue is the first thing I think of whenever I see the bust, even though it doesn’t actually look like the real thing. He doesn’t look quite symmetrical (his eyes are wonky, like one is starting to melt down his face). Anyway, he had no way of objecting to posing with this awesome accessory, so I dressed him up!

image

Look how glamorous I am as I gaze awkwardly over my shoulder.

My next thought was to crochet a hat while I’m here so I could dress him up some more–we’ll see what happens tomorrow. The dogs don’t really like when I crochet, and they make sure I know it. They seem to think that my yarn is a toy to be played with–as soon as I get it out, I have 2 noses climbing on my lap trying to figure out what this new thing is. Soon after that, they’re trying to take it from me. When it comes to me and my yarn, I am Gollum, and yarn is my Preciousss.

image

Check me out ladies and gents!

One thought on “Carpet Petting and a David Bust

  1. Pingback: Celebrate: Two Completed Projects! | Serendipitous Mischief

Leave a Reply

